Peaking for a Grappling Meet

I am looking for information on how to properly peak for a grappling meet. I have been practicing no-gi BJJ for about 6 months now, and plan on competing in a meet at the end of August. I want to be prepared mentally and physically, but am unsure on how to plan for it.

I am 23, 5’8", and about 215 pounds, and will be dropping to the 190-205 weight class.

I feel that I am explosive and in good shape endurance wise (although both have room for improvement) and I have a great coach whom I trust.

How can I balance strength, conditioning, and skill to properly peak for a meet in ~26 weeks.

Need I even worry about it this far out?

Thanks for your time,
Howie

26 weeks is a long time dude… a REALLY long time. Just keep going to practice, slightly overtrain 2-3 weeks out, and 6-10 days before just meditate stretch and rest.

Just rest up a week or two before. Keep training and sparring, but at a slower pace to get the blood flowing and “stay sharp”. I personally keep lifting till a few days out, but I keep weights light and do things like power snatches and push presses.

Try to get enough sleep. If you’re one of those guys, like myself, who tends to get anxious trying to sleep, hit the sack a little earlier.

Get used to the pace you plan to compete with. Nothing nice about gassing in a match because you were grappling harder than normal.

And that’s it. You’re a beginner right now, so focus on technique and crafting a “game”. Are you a top player? If you go with another top player how long will you fight for the takedown before you pull guard? Is your guard game decent enough to do so?
Get good at a few connected things, e.g kimura/armbar/sweep combos, armbar/triangle/omoplata/flower sweep from guard.
To pull a quote from the internet: Get your feet wet everywhere, but dive into deep ponds, not shallow oceans.