Patellar Tendinosis

I have recently been diagnosed with minor patellar and quadriceps tendinosis, which is a bitch.

After having 4 weeks of off-time from squats and olympic lifts, I started training again.
I started very low (80kg) with a 5x3 scheme, three times a week. I increased this by 2.5kg each week.
This worked out fine for some weeks, until I started closing in on 100kg’s again.

The day after training, I feel really stiff over the knees.
It does go away with the couch stretch (ref. Kelly Starret), so I’ve started doing it before bed and after I get up in the morning in addition to post-workout.
This does help, but the knees still get a bit stiff.

I’m also foamrolling (Rumble Roller).
I’ve also got a pair of Voodoo Bands, which I haven’t used in a while…

Does anyone here have experience with this kind of injury?
What worked for you?

What caused this? Do you have anterior pelvic tilt by any chance?

[quote]ahnz wrote:
What caused this? Do you have anterior pelvic tilt by any chance?[/quote]

A little bit, but not that much.

Physios have said that it was no problem. I did have very tight quads and calves though, so I’ve been stretching like a maniac.

I have actually been dealing with the same thing for a sad 7 years now. At times it was worse and other times better but I’m still struggling to find the solution. Have you had any success?

I’ve had it for almost 2 years now myself.

To be honest, I think once this particular ailment turns chronic, I think most will deal with it forever, especially if you’re a iron junkie.

What’s worked for me in order of most importance:

1. Moderate all aspects of volume (frequency, intensity, reps/sets, etc). If it’s flaring reduce all aspects of volume until you get some relief.

2. Stretch quads, calves, adductors and hamstrings daily. Roll out with your choice of roller. Slow rolls with pauses.