Palin's Tea Party Speech

I’m avoiding the low hanging fruit of the crib notes, because in the end it’s better than just having her bumble about, however I saw this come across the news today: http://www.yaledailynews.com/opinion/guest-columns/2010/02/10/robinson-palins-bigger-blunder/ and I found it much more interesting. It’s funny how a thread is started about the mispronunciation of “corpsman” but this goes by without a blip. Which is more disrespectful?

Did you read the Author’s Note at the bottom? It’s basically a retraction of the entire piece.

Kinda like obama’s bracelet?

http://newsbusters.org/blogs/warner-todd-huston/2008/09/28/family-told-obama-not-wear-soldier-sons-bracelet-where-media

[quote]jwillow wrote:
Did you read the Author’s Note at the bottom? It’s basically a retraction of the entire piece.[/quote]
D’oh!

“Low hanging fruit of the crib notes” ?

So far as having a brief set of words like that:

When as a graduate student I gave seminars, my ordinary procedure (after having planned what I was going to say) was to bring a single piece of paper with a few words on it. Not counting whatever overhead slides there were, or handouts, etc.

What I actually said was extemporized.

Why have those few words?

So as not to accidentally omit an entire section of what I wanted to talk about, or do things in a different order than I had in mind, or wind up spending too much time in one area when a simple glance at the list would remind me there were 3 more to go.

True, I had it on paper on a lectern, not on my hand. Big whoop.

I have a suspicion that those mocking having a few words written down (but never mocking having EVERY WORD of a speech come from a Teleprompter) have little to no experience in public speaking.

It’s common to have a brief outline in front of you and is no sign of stupidity.

[quote]jwillow wrote:
Did you read the Author’s Note at the bottom? It’s basically a retraction of the entire piece.[/quote]