T Nation

Pain in the Butt

Last evening, during my first set of power cleans, I got this incredible pain on both sides of my butt, right where the curvy part meets the back of my legs (I am a female, if it helps with the visual).

It was a fairly light weight, about 60% of my 1RM, and I had done a decent warmup prior to this set.

I could barely move at first, but after about five minutes the pain was gone, and replaced by a mild stinging sensation, still on both sides.

I lowered the weight some and was eventually able to continue my workout, but this incident scared the hell out of me.

Can anyone help diagnose what this may be? I am thinking it was just a muscle spasm, but I am scheduled to try a new personal record in the deadlift on Saturday, and now I am kind of hesitant.

Thanks for any input

Julie

Does it still hurt? What level of pain? Right now, and i am no expert, I would not worry too much about it, but pay attention to it. Judging by the way you described what happened it does not seem that bad. Sometimes I get a shooting pain for a day but it goes away. It could be an irritated nerve but not too serious. When it stays for a couple days then I start thinking. as for Saturday I would play it by ear. If it completely debilitates you, obviously don’t go for the PR. Just listen to your body. Is the PR in training or competition, etc?

The PR is just for training. I could delay it, but just got into a training groove, and don’t want to wuss out.

The pain isn’t too bad this morning, but it’s definitely there - more discomforting than anything else, but it is not regular muscle soreness.

Like I mentioned before, the thing that freaked me out the most was that it occured with a low weight.

Thanks for the input

Julie-