Pad Work Advice

Hi everyone, first post here…

I’m going to be starting a job at a new fitness studio soon that requires me to hold pads for members.

I’ve some experience holding pads for complete beginners, but not for anyone with real experience.

In the past I’ve ran a box fit class where pad combinations were simple, and repeated over time. For example, Jab cross Jab Uppercut repeated for 120s.

Can anyone give me some advice on how to hold pads for someone who has more technique and strength, like how do I link together combinations confidently without a pre-planned routine?

Thanks in advance!

You really can’t hold pads for someone without knowing ahead of time what they are going to throw. In fact, it’s pretty much your job/responsibility as the pad holder to call out the combination you want them to throw before they throw it.

Holding pads is as much of an art as hitting pads, and as such takes significant time to gain a high level of proficiency in.

That said, if you start with basic combinations or just having your client repeatedly throw the same punch (left Jan for example) you can start to get a feel for that person’s timing and power and make the necessary adjustments. You don’t have to try to be Roger Mayweather or Freddie Roach and string together crazy intricate and long combinations.

The main details about holding pads are:

1. providing enough force/stability with the pad into the “fighter/client’s” punches so that it feels like a solid target to them without crushing their punch or hurting them (this is less of an issue with more skilled fighters)

This is done by both creating some kinetic energy/impact/movement into the punch with the pad and by having proper body alignment so you can support the forces you are encountering. In some cases (either for certain punches or when working with certain individuals) this can mean doubling up the pads/re-enforcing the pads so you can provide extra support.