T Nation

Overworking? How Much is Too Much?

Ive read many articles, both on here and bodybuilding.com about overworking. The effects are no doubt bad and overworking is something u want to avoid but how much is too much? I remember reading an article here on T-Nation about how its almost impossible to overwork urself. If this is true i will add some extra workout days to my workout-which is a 3-day a week 5x5 program-to reap extra gains.

It's better to do too much then too little even though I'm still a noob in the game of weightlifting I've done too much before and gotten injuried. Try deadlifting and squatting everyday and you find that overworking yourself is quite easy. Just continue with the routine your on right now. If it ain't broke don't fix it.

I think if you are becoming more fatigued and having a hard time getting your lifts to go up or even stay the same then you might need to lay off some.

If you're too sore to move, you worked too hard in one day. the beauty of being a beginner is that you can pretty much get into the gym 5-6 days a week and not really have a problem, making great gains along the way. As you get more experienced, this is harder and harder to do. But your body needs to adapt to volume first, and a lot of newbs go into the gym, train until they can't move, and then wonder why it hurts to get out of bed the next morning.

Parsley, you are definately an inquisitive person :slightly_smiling: Listen, don't be afraid of overtraining before you even started. Hit the gym, see what it's like and then you'll slowly learn things.

If you want to be careful and still give yourself some frequency, you can do sth like that:

day 1
chin-ups (or pulldowns)
DB one-arm row
biceps exercise
hyperextension (to strengthen lower back)

day off

day 3:
bench press
DB shoulder press
dips
squats (done with very little weight, high reps, to grasp the thing)

day (or 2) off
repeat