T Nation

Overtraining Help

I know that most over training reports are all BS. I just finished my season (College Tennis), and was in a state of over training for about the last month.

Short summary: I've been lifting for about two years, coming into the season I had pretty mundane 1RMs Squat: 260, DL: 325, Bench: 160.

The season began and I came right into it doing out a nice 8 week program (I had a three way split that I'd do twice a week, so 6 days lifting 1 day rest per week, fairly intense hour and a half workouts). I started the season lifting four times a week, but within the first week of the season had to cut all lifting because of practice.

We practiced 6 days a week (2 hours), and did about a half hour of hardcore sprints and plyometric work every day. I tried to keep lifting, talked to my coaches, but couldn't come to any sort of agreement and ended up not being able to lift at all.

Practice continued for about a month and a half without rest, until the season (matches) started. After about a month of matches with probably 2 days rest my body pretty much shutdown on me.

I had perpetual soreness in my legs, I couldn't sleep enough (to feel rested--I got 8-11 hours a night), couldn't sleep through the night without waking up a few times, and was horribly irritable. By the end of the season--though I love the sport and my teammates--I couldn't wait for it to end.

Now I feel very very week and sore, and after taking 4 days off I finally ventured into the weight room to try to get my strength back (and active recover). I heated and stretched, and popped out 10 squats at 165, then 8 at 185 and could barely walk. I tried to squat more but my hamstrings could barely get up for the first rep.

My upper body is pretty much fine. I did bench and military presses, and only lost a little bit of strength over the season.