T Nation

Overtraining Avoidance?

how long do you guys train before you give yourself a break, whether it be a full week off, or just a "light" week of maybe 1 upper and 1 lower body workout with lighter weights?

Im feeling really lethargic lately and I think my body is trying to tell me to give it a break. Ive been training strait for about 3 months at 3-4 days a week.

id say after 1 month you should take it down a notch for a week. myself i usually burnout after 3-5 weeks.

When I start to feel rundown I do a machine week. I just kind of screw around on the machines, go pretty easy. I still feel active(if I just don't go for a week, I REALLY don't want to go back, and then I get fat(er).), plus you get to socialize with the gym bunnies that normally run in the other direction while I curse in the squat rack.

Back off, buddy. Sit on your couch for at least five or six days.

I just did the couch thing. I had been doing a four on/one off split for about three months straight. For the last week, I felt shitty, verging on sick.

Last Tuesday, I went in for leg day, did two sets of warm-up squats, re-racked the bar and went home. Why?

Because I: a) felt how you feel; b) was struggling with 135 lbs when the week before I did 10x3 with 315 (first time, yay me!); and c) I had the nagging feeling that I was going to hurt myself. Now, I'm not going to speak for anyone, but I bet people will agree that it's when you think you're going to hurt yourself that you do.

Go home, sit on the couch. Went back for the first time today and felt great. Put up more weight than usual and didn't have any of the usual little dingy injuries.