T Nation

Overqualified... Job Frustrations

I am trying to get a second job to make as much money as I can for the next 8 months. I am 27 and have two bachelors degrees, one in exercise science and the other in biochem. I am trying to get a simple bartending job at night/weekends based on the amount of money I can make as this is what I did while i was in school for my first degree. I have literally been to EVERY bar/club in my area and have not gotten a single call back or anything. I would understand this if I had no experience but I have plenty of experience, two degrees, and have a great resume with managerial experience. I am a good looking guy that looks like I take care of myself and lift and am frustrated with my lack of progress on the part time job search.

IS this a prime example of being overqualified for a job? Bartending is pretty simple, bullshit with customers, flirt with older ladies, mix drinks and make tips, and repeat.

I would think an employer would want a responsible person with a degree to work for them, especially in the bar scene where the average bartender is one step away from steeling cash from the till. I went into a brand new club that was opening and was the ONLY canidate that had a fucking resume, and I STILL didn't even get a call back. WTF am I doing wrong?

any other suggestions on how to come up with some fast money working nights/weekends?

any shame in working the Mcdonalds night shifts or something like that?

frustrated with the job search, pointers or ideas are welcome.

Try sales of some sort, self employed.