Overhead Focused Program

Hi CT,

After reaching my goal of a 1.15 x bw push press i switched focus to flat pressing. I am now wanting to refocus my efforts on the push press again to achieve my new goal of a 1.25 x bw push press.

I am following a modified version of your 3,2,1,6,6,6 program and am push pressing twice a week.

My current Press day looks like this for both days:

1.Push press: 3,2,1,6,6,6
2.Dips: 5 x 8
3.Push press (70% max): 5x3, 5x2, 5x1

This is working great at the moment and my shoulders are feeling as healthy as ever.

Can you see any issues with not including a bench variation? Will it effect chest hypertrophy that much?

Lastly, Would you change anything i have mentioned if you were focusing on overhead e.g. different rep schemes for the 2 days or increasing press frequency to 3 x a week?

Huge Thanks as per CT

I’m not CT, but I’ve been doing CT’s layers for about 7 months, with almost no benching, because it is detrimental to flexibility for snatching.

Once you are over BW, there are three main things to thing about with a pushpress or jerk:

1. Stability - esp upper back and even the lats must be strong enough to keep the humerus in the right position
  2. The launch - quads and core strength to get a good push from the clavicles up past your nose
  3. Lockout power - Delts, traps and triceps

For me, I focus on them in this order. I couldn’t do a BW pushpress until I could do 5 chin ups. I had plenty of pressing power, but no control. My elbows were all over the place. I did lots of straight-arm rows to target the lower and middle traps, really focus on getting that muscle involved. Now, snatch training takes care of most of this for me.