Overdevelopment of Glutes

Question in regards to glute development.

I have been squatting for the last 4 years. Naturally my glutes are more developed in regards to the rest of my body but it has got to a point now where my physique looks out of proportion. My glutes are way bigger than quads / hammys and I throughly dislike it.

I believe this is due to my glutes overpowering any other muscle activation during the squat therefore taking most of the load.

It’s got to the point where I have stopped squatting altogether and have noticed small improvements in the proportions.

Does anyone else have issues like this? Any recommendations?

My plan is at the moment to stop squatting (yes - not utilising the most efficient leg builder I am aware) and focus on building up the quads and hammys through heavy leg presses and other standard accessory’s.

Could I potentially just focus on front squats instead or will I again get too much glute activation?

Thanks.

Are you doing Romanian Deadlifts, Hamstring curls and Quad Extensions? I would never willingly let an ‘overdeveloped’ muscle get smaller just for better proportions - it sounds like you just need to focus on more isolation type movements.

Don’t stop squatting, just make sure you get your isolation movements in.

2 Likes

Additionally, you can also change how you squat:

• Narrower stance
  • Upright torso
  • High bar
  • ROM that takes your knees through some forward displacement

I find pausing in the bottom and holding just short of full lockout on the top helps me get my quads sore as well.

Getting a hamstring pump via some leg curls seems to help this style hurt my knees less.

You can also pre-exhaust with leg extensions.

All that said, you certainly don’t have to squat. I just like doing it and I think it can certainly be a powerful quad developer.