T Nation

Overcoming Mental Adversity

Good day, all. Hope this post finds everyone doing alright. I am an avid mixed-martial artist, fitness nut, and competitor. I’ve fought in five shows, got deployed for fifteen months, and am now getting ready to resume competition next month. The team I train with is top notch, however, my biggest stumbling block has always been in the mental department.

I’ve struggled with depression (PTSD according to original diagnosis) for over a decade now, however, I’m now being sent for testing for bipolar disorder. What I would like to figure out is how to keep my motivation and energy levels up, in spite of these stumbling blocks. There have been far too many times that I’ve either lacked the mental energy, lost focus, or just kept doubting myself.

I’m already on meds, however, I would like to read what advice you all could possibly provide…fresh ideas, I suppose. Thanks in advance for your input, and for simply reading this.

Depression can be a very very tough condition. Ten years is a long time to struggle with depression. So I would consider your depression “resistant” even if it is mild.

Trying to motivate yourself when you have depression (where your brain is not functioning normally) is like trying to type faster when the keyboard is unplugged from the computer.