Outdoor Instructor in Pursuit of Muscle

okay so i’ve been reading up for awhile now about gainers, proteins, creatine, GNC vs The World, home made vs pre-made gainers, eating more and more vs “i can’t eat anymore or my tummy will huwrt” - all of it.

and i’ve come down to this issue - for me specifically - and was wondering if i could get some ideas floating my way on this, it would be seriously greatly appreciated.

so i work in the outdoor field, working 7 days, 14 days, or 28 days in a row - on a backcountry expedition. i’m literally carrying, along with my students, all the food and equipment we need for the entirety of that expedition. after the trip, i get back to base camp and have a good 4-7 days off, or possibly a month off, maybe 2.

when I’m off work - I’m living in my truck so space is limited and i can only carry the essentials. so no matter what anyone says, i very literally don’t have the luxury of being able to eat ginormous amounts of food all day long - on account of i can’t really carry all of it. i can however choose high calorie and protein rich foods - most of which have to be non-perishable (unless I’m around a grocery store) in which case i’ll buy 3 days of perishable nice food.

i’m trying to gain muscle mass, and get my BF down to under 10%. I don’t have access to free weights.

is there something I’m over looking? cut me some slack if its obvious, i am fairly new to this world.

Well, there’s bodyweight stuff. Lots of articles on what you can do there.

Given your logistical constraints, I would consider two purchases.

1. A kettlebell. If you don’t know what one is, think of a cannonball with a handle. It is basically indestructible and you can do a variety of exercises with it. Very truck-friendly. More for conditioning than strength, but will still build some muscle if you are (relatively) untrained.