Our Fat Society

As I’ve posted previously, in the last year I’ve gone from about 285 pounds (due to football weight) down to a current 210 or so. Although I consider myself a work in progress, I’m very proud of myself and the work it took to get here.

Upon reciently seeing me, my parents accused me of being anorexic. Now, anyone that knows anything about nutrition or fitness would know in a second that me being anorexic is just retarded, but that got me thinking. I’ve come to the conclusion that a lot of people in my life consistently make my fitness goals more difficult to achieve than they have to be.

It’s the little things: my girlfriend buying us pizza, people I work with finding any excuse they can to bring food to work, whatever. People always say “oh come on, have a bite” when I politely decline a serving of whatever disgusting sugar-filled food they’re shoving in their fat face or give me hell because I’m “into nutrition” like I have an embarassing rash.

I’m sure you all have your own stories you could share. What really intrests me is how I almost feel like people around me are working against my goals. Am I making this up in my head? If not, what is their modivation? Are they jealous of the modivation I have that they don’t? Are they driven to pull be back to the social “norm”? Do they just want me to die of heart disease at 35 like themselves? Do they have stock in Krispy Creams? Let me know what you think, but I’m kinda getting tired of fat people wanting me to be fat. If I sound a little hateful, I don’t mean to. If you want to have high cholesterol, go for it. Just don’t drag me down with you.

I dropped 35 pounds in a summer a while back (on purpose) and was also accused of being anorexic… Looking back I might have lost too much weight too fast. I wouldn’t do that again, But then, I’m pretty lean now, I won’t have to again. I’ll drop about 6-7 pounds to get ripped for summer.

Hardly am I anorexic. And no-one now would accuse me of that.