Osgood Schlatters and GMs

I have a tender spot below the knee - probably Osgood Schlatters or general inflammation.

Any injury experts or people with experience of this out there?

Obviously squatting and running are out of the question, but how about good mornings? Although there’s no specific movement that stresses the bottom of knee / top of the shin bone, would general weight bearing be likely to lead to more inflammation?

How about swimming to maintain general cv fitness?

Osgood Schlatters is when the patellar tendon starts to pull away from the tibia, resulting in calcification around the insertion point and development of a significant bump on the bone at the insertion. General tenderness there is probably just tendonitis, and not Osgood Schlatters. (I used to be an athletic trainer many, many years ago.) Rest for the knee joint is probably best, as you’ve figured out already. Some cold compresses might help for the tendonitis.

Patellar tendonitis is sometimes caused the athlete performing an exercise in a limited range of motion. An example of this would be someone not utilizing the full range of motion when squatting, or quarter squats. This is especially true if their sports demands a lot of jumping. To combat this, full ROM could be utilized. A good example of this type of exercise is one and a half squats. To perform these, you would squat into the full squat position, as low as you can go and keep the weight on the entire foot, not just the balls of your feet. From the full squat position come up to the quarter squat position. Then, without pausing, go back to the full squat position. Then you want go back to the complete upright position, that is one rep.
Often the athlete, if they work a perform full range of motion for their exercises, will experience a decrease in their symptoms. Also working the joint with an emphasis placed on eccentrics will help with tendonitis.

here is an article written by Ian King which might help: