Ori Hofmekler's Book?

Hi

Recently I came across a book by Ori Hofmekler called the “Warrior Diet”. I don’t make claims of being an expert in nutrition and I’m no doctor but what was written in this book totally discombobulated me.

Basically, the diet recommends “controlled fasting” (whatever that might mean) during the day and eating one big meal at the end of the day. This is supposed to increase one’s metabolism and to burn fat. No disrespect to the author but this goes against the grain of everything I’ve read so far.

I thought frequent meals was the way to go when trying to shed bodyfat. That’s why I decided to consult you on this issue. If there are knowledgeable people around here (and I’m sure there is) would you please explain to me how exactly this is supposed to work? Does anybody have any practical experience with this diet? How did it go?

I’ll provide a little background information about myself so that you can judge whether the Warrior diet will be suitable for me. I first started training bodybuilding for two years and during that period I ate six meals a day. But I didn’t like what bodybuilding was doing for me and I switched to powerlifting.

During this time I ate four meals a day. Right now I don’t train with weights. I do various bodyweight exercises, agility drills and a bit of running. I do exercises like one-arm pushups, pistols, pullups, I like to do exercises on the rings once in a while - you get the idea mostly gymnastics type of training where I try to maintain maximum tension throughout the whole body.

With that said, will the deprivation phase during the day hamper my ability to generate maximum tension while doing the exercises? Will I have enough energy if I don’t eat all day? I’m not that fat but a reduction of bodyfat is definitely on my list of priorities and I feel now is the time that this issue should be addressed.