Opinions on Vertical Jump Routine

Hey everybody,

I recently started playing basketball after a few years off (3 to 4, maybe), and have found that my vertical has plummeted somewhere in the range of 4 to 8 inches, depending on what I use as a baseline (4 inches being the difference from what I typically would experience after a layoff, and 8 being the difference from the highest I was ever able to reach).

Obviously, I’m quite a bit older now than I was then, but I also feel that the type of training I’ve been doing minus any explosive exercises or sports has resulted in my losing some of the power I used to be able to generate (call it a transition from fast twitch to slow twitch muscle, if you will). But I definitely just feel less explosive off the ground.

Anyway, to address this, I decided to incorporate some modest plyometrics into my routine, as well as a bit of speed-strength and strength-speed type exercises. The problem I ran in to has to do with scheduling, as I only have access to the gym after work Monday to Friday, and I have practice on Monday and a game on Thursday.

What I’ve tried to do is train on Tuesday and Friday, since anything more than that is unrealistic to sustain. I therefore came up with what amounts to a full-body routine twice a week, with the focus shifting from hip-dominant lower body and horizontal plane upper body on one day to quad-dominant lower body and vertical plane upper body the other. Here’s what I’ve been trying for about two weeks now:

Tuesday:

Plyometric: Depth Drops 4x8
Strength-Speed: Power Snatch from Hang 4x5
Lower Body (Hip): Rack Deadlift 3x8
Upper Body (Horiz) 1: High Cable Flies 3x10
Upper Body (Horiz) 2A: Floor Dumbbell Press 3x10
Upper Body (Horiz) 2B: Seated Rows 3x10

Friday:

Plyometric: Depth Jumps 4x8
Speed-Strength: Jump Squat 3x8
Lower Body (Quad): Front Squat 3x8
Upper Body (Vert) 1: Cable Upright Rows 3x10
Upper Body (Vert) 2A: Dumbbell Shoulder Press 3x10
Upper Body (Vert) 2B: Lat Pulldowns 3x10