T Nation

Opinions On This Workout

I am a beginner wanting some feedback on this workout I found and tweaked a little. Looking to gain muscle and burn fat.

4 DAY SPLIT WORKOUT :
Cardio - 10 mins on Bike Pre Workout / Basketball or Sprints After Workout
Monday - Shoulders & Triceps & Abs
4 Sets of 10,8,6,4 Shrugs 3 Sets of 25
Alternate Cable Shoulder Press
Arnold Dumbbell Press
Dumbbell Reverse Fly ( under legs )
Shrugs ( Smith Machine or Dumbbells ) HEAVY
3 Sets of 8,6,4
Cable Tricep Pull down ( Straight Bar )
Close Grip Bench Press
Rope Pushdown
Tricep Dumbbell Extension Overhead
ABS - 3 Sets Of 15

Side Ab Machine
Ab Crunch Machine

Tuesday - Back
4 Sets of 10,8,6,4 Shrugs 2 Sets of 15
Close Grip Pulldown ( Hex Bar on Lat Machine )
Bent Over Row ( Barbel )
Dumbbell Row
Shurgs ( LIGHT )

Wednesday - Cardio

Thursday - Chest & Biceps & Abs
4 Sets of 10,8,6,4
Bench Press
Incline Dumbbell Flys
Incline Dumbbell Bench Press
Pushups 3 Sets to Failure

3 Sets of 10,8,6
Dumbbell Curl
Dumbbell Hammer Curl
Preacher Curl 

ABS -     3 Sets of 15 
Side Ab Machine
Ab Crunch Machine

Friday- Legs
Leg Press 3 Sets of 15 12 10
Seated Calf Raise 2 Sets of 12, 10
Leg Curl 2 Set of 10

• Any replacement lifts for better results? What days should I do squats?
  • Sets to Rep ratio?
  • Feel free to fill in Cardio activites which I have not set yet. I usually get on a stationary bike before and after workout, then play basketball.

How new are you? New as in completely new and have never done any sort of lifting/strength based activity new?

If so, starting strength or stronglift 5x5 is about the only relevant answer. That looks like a very poorly designed bodybuilding program, and bodybuilding programs only work when you already have a great base of strength and can power through the large amount of reps.

Your leg day is shit

[quote]caveman101 wrote:
Your leg day is shit[/quote]

Everyday is shit.
Get yourself on a proper program.

And, exactly what did you eat yesterday?

tweet