T Nation

Opinions On PowerliftingToWin?

I’ve looked at their website a few times to read about certain programs and get an idea what they’re like but until recently I’ve never looked into their actual programs. They provide a free ebook which from initially skimming seems to talk a lot about the science of programming and looks interesting. Looking at the author he seems strong but he’s not exactly a world record powerlifter or anything for what it’s worth.

It is something I might consider trying in the future so I wondered, has anyone tried their programs in the past or read about them and have any opinions? Most people on here know what they’re talking about a lot more than me so I want to know what you think.

I read all the program reviews. The author - Izzy Narvaez sets himself up as an authority somehow entitled to critique Rip, Wendler, The Lilliebridges, Coan, Louie Simmons. He comes off as a know it all windbag.

I have 35 years of training experience including 17 competetive years with much coaching and handling of other lifters included. I may not agree with some of the principles of some of these programs, but i would never put myself out as a critic of their or think I was qualified to critique the likes of the guys I mentioned because all of them developed programs based upon their experiences and they are all unique and they ALL work depending on the individual.

Basically, my advice would be if you need a program to follow seek out those who have paid their dues.

You could do worse than follow Izzy, but like jbackos said, he presents himself as someone with much more knowledge and experience than he really does. He does online coaching, are you aware of any elite lifters that he has coached? You could probably learn more from jbackos, maybe he can set you up with a payment plan…

From what I have heard and seen, the free programs are OK. They will work better for some people than others, but in general they are decent in the short term.