Opinions On My Routine

Hey,

I’m relatively new to lifting and want to gain and tone at the same time. Below is what I am doing right now:

Monday: Biceps and Back

Biceps: Any 3 of the following
Preacher curls
Hammer curls
Bar curls
Dumbbell curls

Back: Any few of the following
Assisted pulls ups
Seated Rows
Bent over row
Pull downs
Lower back extensions with low weight

Tuesday: Wrists, forearms and Abs

Wrists forearms:
Wrist curls
reverse curls

Abs: Leg raises
Crunches
Bicycle crunches
Reverse crunches
Crunch machine
Oblique weighted side bends

Wednesday: Legs and shoulders

Legs: Squats
Leg press
Calf raises
various machines

Shoulders: Any few of the following
Arnold press
Military press
Front and side raises

Thursday: Chest and tri’s

Chest: Any 3 of the following
Bench press
Incline Bench
Decline Bench
Seated Flys
Cable flys

Tris:
Skull crushers
Cable extensions
Dips

Friday: Cardio 30-50 minutes

Saturday: Cardio 30-50 minutes

Sunday: Rest

After each workout I normally do 10-15 minutes cardio…just because I feel better. Is this hurting my performance?

I do 3 sets, increasing weight each set and try to do 12-8-6 more or less. Every few weeks I am doing a week of supersetting, changing between antagonistic and isolated/compound supersets. One problem I have noticed is that I can’t lift very much weight, but I assume this is normally when beginning.

Any opinions on how I could improve would be appreciated,

Cheers.

I wouldn’t recommend doing shoulders the day before you do your benching work.

It’s probably in your best interest to find a program on this site rather than try and make one for yourself.

No reason not to take something from someone more experienced that you know will work.

Also, read the stickies.

[quote]Tumbles wrote:
I wouldn’t recommend doing shoulders the day before you do your benching work.

It’s probably in your best interest to find a program on this site rather than try and make one for yourself.