T Nation

Opinions on my Lifting Routine, Getting into PLing

I’m a novice young lifter trying to get into powerlifting. I like to keep my workouts short and simple (45-60min) that’s why I only use 2 exercises per session. What do you guys think? Is this ok? or should I add more assistance work?

Monday:
-Bench Press
-Weighted chin-ups

Tuesday:
-Low-Bar Squats
-Good Mornings

Thursday:
-Standing OHP (I treat the OHP as a main lift)
-Bent-over rows

Friday:
-Sumo Deadlifts
-Romanian Deadlifts

I’d do the lifts more than once per week.

More main lift will probably be beneficial lel.

Wut are your numbers for SBD?
Why these assistance exercises and wut are your maxes on them?
Used these assistance exercises before and got good carryover?

Maybe like:

M Squat/Bench
T OHP/Assistance

T Squat/Assistance
F Deadlift/Bench

What are your best lifts? How have you been training so far?

You definitely need more focus on squat and bench, all your assistance lifts have some carryover to the deadlift but you only have OHP for a pressing variation and nothing for your quads other than squatting once a week. You probably don’t need a whole bunch of variations, squatting and benching twice a week should be enough. And there is no point in treating OHP as a main lift unless you are planning to compete in Mark Rippetoe’s strengthlifting rather than PL.

Also, don’t expect that you can get far with workouts of only 45-60 minutes. You are severely limiting how much volume you can do, and that will limit your progress. It would be nice if we could all just do quick and easy workouts and get bigger and stronger, but in reality it just doesn’t work that way.

Bench: 165lbs x 1
Squat: 205lbs x 1
Deadlift: 245lbs x 1
OHP: 100lbs x 1
Body weight: 160 lbs

I’ve been training consistently for 2 months so far

Do starting strength, or some other basic linear progression program. After one month of training there is no way you are qualified to design your own program.