T Nation

Opinion on This Set/Rep Approach?

You train all the big lifts two times a week and what you do is that you take 85% of your max and first session you do 3 reps of 3 sets with that. the next session you do 3 reps of 4 sets, then 5 sets, up to 10 sets. then you do a deload week after that you add 5 more kilos to your maxes and start over with 85% of that.

does this sound good to you for increasing strength and size? the idea is that the first sessions increase neural strength and as the sets increases its purely myofibrillar hypertrophy, which is the actual muscle fibers getting bigger and stronger.

i also have another question: i have never done a deload before i have just taken weeks off. the basic argument for deload > rest week is that you stimulate just a wee bit more protein synthesis to keep your from losing muscle and strength. my question is tough, since i normaly hit my muscles twice a week can i just hit them once since we are not trying to do more than maintain? so i get best of both worlds.

This sounds like a great system. You might be a little run down during the second week or so, but keep pushing through it and your body will adapt! For a deload week, I think you will find that you want to still do something at least 5 days a week after doing such high volume for 8 weeks. Light squatting, dumbell bench, speed deadlifts, sled work, etc will keep that small stimulation you need and get joints moving to maintain range of motion.

By the end of that week, you may even feel good enough to go for a heavy single with each big lift. I would wait until you get there to decide. My only strong feeling is that only lifting 3 days that week would be a waste of your training.

[quote]buildsomemuscle wrote: