T Nation

Opinion on My Routine

First off...I'm 6'3" 180 lbs. I do masonry for a living, which, as you may know, consists of a lot of continuous lifting, carrying weight, throwing around 80 lb bags of cement etc... The only break I get is about a 20-30 minute lunch so it's pretty constant.

With that out of the way, my routine, which a buddy of mine developed for me, looks like this:

Monday

Back Squat
5 sets of 5 reps each
rest 3 min. between each set
Look straight ahead. Go down until your ass touches the backs of your legs. Keep your back straight!

Deadlift(standard)
5 sets of 5 reps each
rest 3 min between sets.
Keep your back straight, especially your mid back. Do not bounce the weights.

Calf Raises
3 sets of 12 reps each
rest 1&1/2-2 min. between sets
Set the balls of your feet on a 2x4 and lift yourself moving only your ankles.
Calves respond better to higher repetitions than your thighs.

Hanging Leg Raise
3 sets of as many reps as possible(this is called lifting untill failure)
rest 2 min. between sets
Hang from a pullup bar and lift your STRAIGHT legs high as possible

Saxon Side Bend
3 sets of 10 reps
rest 2 min between sets
Hold a plate or dumbell overhead to add resistance to sidebends. Be careful not to bend too far. Maybe 50-60 degrees?

Wednesday; pushing muscles

Wednesday

Benchpress(standard)
5 sets of 5 reps
rest 3 min. between sets

Shoulder Press(barbell or dumbell)
10, 8, 6 reps
rest 2 min. between sets

Close-Grip Benchpress
10, 8, 6 reps
rest 2 min. between sets

Twisting Crunches
3 sets to failure

Friday; Pulling Muscles

Power Clean
5 sets of 5 reps
rest 3 min. between sets

Wide-grip pullup
3 sets to failure
rest 2 min. between sets

Barbell Curl
10, 8, 6
rest 2 min. between sets

Hanging Twist
3 sets to failure
rest 1 min. between sets