Opening Second Gym, Advice/Info ?

Got go ahead on second gym today, first gym is all nautilus equipment, but thinking about using Atlantis equipment for this gym, mainly because they’re based 2hrs from me, and it saves tons on shipping not to have to cross US border, but I have never used their equipment before. I thought it might be fun to get some input from you guys, keep in mind this is a family fitness facility, although I do try to slip in some hard-core stuff so I can train my athletic based clients, in and around the seniors and soccer moms who allow me to turn a profit, in a small town.

I’ve owned first club for 5yrs now, and it’s been really successful, so going to follow same type of formula in this club. Due to financing it’s easiest to purchase all equip. from one or maybe two sources at first, than add some used pieces latter as needed. I’m living my dream, and I wasn’t a member of T-nation first time around, so might keep a sort of log on what goes into setting up and opening this type of gym, keep in mind it’s a franchise(be nice) so I have to be careful on how I word certain things, I’ll try my best to be open about everything I can

Man it was my dream to open up a gym. After some deliberation and trying to crunch the numbers I could not figure out how you guys make money. You probably need close to a quarter of a million dollars upfront for the equipment, insurance and the first 6-8 months of rent. How do you compete with these main chains that only charge 20 dollars a month for membership dues. Seriously how do these places stay open.

Anyways congrats on the second gym. You are obviously doing something right.

How many hours would you say you work a week? Being self employed is often overwhelming. My family is involved in the automotive industry and have our own small business and even with everyone contributing my father still works 60-70 hours a week.

Pull a Daniel Lugo and give strippers free mememberships.