Only The Big 3 Lifts for a Month?

A guy I know told me I should only focus on the big 3 lifts (bench, squats, deadlifts) for a month. Is this a good idea? If so how should I split it up?

Don’t just take random advice from someone simply because they are a guy you know. What is this guy’s credentials in getting people big and strong? If you trust him, follow his advice. If not, don’t.

7 Likes

What @T3hPwnisher said and there is literally nothing we can do to help you cause you’re giving us nothing to work with.

Why are you told to focus on the big 3 lifts?
What is your training history(including training stats)?
What is the goal of your training?

1 Like

Well I’m guessing I would focus on them to build a decent foundation with compound lifts before moving on to any isolation exercises.
I’ve been working out on and off for about 3 years but only about 8 months with any sort of regular schedule.
Goal of my training is to stop being a fat p.o.s and get strong as fuck lol

You will find very few strong people train or advocate training in the manner you describe.

Jim Wendler squatted 1000lbs and built 5/3/1. That would be a great place to start. Same with the Cube method, Juggernaut Method and Westside Barbell for Skinny Bastards.

3 Likes

Ok I’ll look into those, it’s just the more I try to look up and read the more confused and mixed up I get lol

This is why I bring up credentials. All 4 of those programs were written by people with credentials. Limit your reading in thay way and you will be less confused.

1 Like

Lately I’ve been just trying to get as much help as possible. I’m kinda dead in the water right now

Don’t. The majority of people have no idea how to succeed. Listening to as many sources as possible will put you among their ranks. Go for quality over quantity.

6 Likes