T Nation

One Year of T-Nation & Goals

Hi,

I apologize in advance for this long-winded post. This is basically a description of what I have gained from T-Nation in 2006, and a request for comments on setting some goals for 2007.

Background

I’m 29, 6’0", 220 lbs, 21% BF, work a desk job, go to school at night, and am usually able to get into the gym 3x / week.
From 2002-2004 I ran a lot and lifted 3x10 on a 3 day split with small weights. I went from fat to skinny-fat. In Summer 04 I broke my arm and stopped lifting.

In Fall 04 I started lifting tiny weights again. In December 04 I broke my arm again, but though it just hurt due to cold weather and that I should stop being a puss. In February of 05 people started telling me my arm looks funny, and in March it was diagnosed as a non-union of the distal radius. I didn’t lift again with any regularity until January of 06.

2006 - What T-Nation did for me

• Jan 06-Start reading T-Nation. Doc cleared me for lifting again. Started 5x5.
  • Mar 06 - 197 lbs @ 18% BF, 38" waist.
  • Summer 06-5x5, then WS4SB, then TBT
  • Oct 06 - 220 lbs at 21% BF. Began table push-aways.
  • Nov 06 - BP 5RM is 185lbs. SQ/DL 3 RMs both @ 275 lbs, possibly more, but form gets shitty. 8 neutral grip pull-ups @ body weight. Arm x-ray looks good.

Over the course of the year I added several good habits. These did not happen all at once or overnight. It has happened in fits and starts, but thanks to T-Nation I did the following:

1. Started logging workouts.
  2. Eat natural PB instead of JIF.
  3. Add whey protein to everything.
  4. Started doing DLs and squats.
  5. Pay much more attention to peri-workout nutrition
  6. Figured out that switching exercise programs does good things.