T Nation

One Month of Bodybuilding

So I lost my job, and have a month to do whatever the hell I like, and enough money saved to spend a couple more months afterwards looking for a new job before I'm screwed. I have enough money saved for food too.

Anyway, a month that I'm going to dedicate almost entirely - well, as much time as is necessary/beneficial - to the gym. So... what would you do in this situation, as myself, a complete beginner?

I heard Arnold used to train about 6 hours a day - as did a lot of other pros and such - that's the kind of thing I'm talking about here (ok, I'm not talking about doing 6 hours every day 7 days a week here, but I want to do a lot more, that is my point). Would that be pointless for me? If it's suggested I go in for hours at a time, please advise what I should do ("3-4 exercises for 2 body parts daily" is enough of an explanation). Currently I'm doing 5-7 days/week split, no cardio, all lifting.

Not sure if this would be better off in the Bodybuilding forum for quality replies, or if it's a bit beginnerish, so I went with Beginners, but if you think I should move it, let me know.

Do you really think YOU (not Arnold on super supps) could recover properly from lifting 6 hours 5-7 days a week? Do you really think YOU could possibly have the energy to maintain over a 6 hour period at the gym?

Think about these things. Sometimes more is less, and in this case going to the gym for 6 hours a day makes absolutely no sense whatsoever. Focus your extra time on diet/eating (dial it in to the T), more sleep for recovery, and all this will allow you to follow the same plan you have been except with increased intensity at the gym. You don’t need to go to the gym for 6 hours. But prepare yourself through diet and recovery to have that extra boost for more intensity while you are at the gym for the 1-2 hours.

[quote]kylec72 wrote: