T Nation

One Lift a Day

145LB
5’11
10%

Im planning on starting the one lift a day program, im new to bbing and i figured i would start small. Has anyone here done the olad program? just looking for some tips or a workout journal.

Do rippetoes. If you’re new you probably won’t be able to cause enough damage each workout for it to be effective. If you need the rippetoes link just ask for it.

[quote]OLAD wrote:
145LB
5’11
10%

Im planning on starting the one lift a day program, im new to bbing and i figured i would start small. Has anyone here done the olad program? just looking for some tips or a workout journal.[/quote]

[quote]zephead4747 wrote:
Do rippetoes. If you’re new you probably won’t be able to cause enough damage each workout for it to be effective. If you need the rippetoes link just ask for it.[/quote]

Welcome: If you are beginning weight training, then you will indeed in all likelihood benefit most quickly in terms of strength gains and learning technique from the kind of program just mentioned. In either case, the site search function (upper right hand of your screen) will provide you with links to threads containing more information on specific programs.

One Lift a Day is not “starting small”. It’s an advanced technique. I concur with the Rippetoe program.

One Lift A Day is advanced?

Not sure I agree with that, although I think I see where you’re coming from. I did it when I only had maybe four months of serious training under my belt. I made progress.

On the other hand, I basically just picked an exercise, did 5x5 with it M-F (changing lifts each day), because it didn’t feel like enough volume.

To the OP- I do recommend Rippetoes. OLAD is good, and you’ll gain from it. But Rippetoe’s is probably better from the standpoint that you get a higher frequency of training exposure, and it’ll help you lift more in a shorter amount of time.

[quote]Otep wrote:
One Lift A Day is advanced?