T Nation

One Gal of Milk a Day? Alternatives?

As suggested in the Rippetoe interview. Has anyone done this? Is it necessary? I’m not sure I could drink a gallon a day. Are there alternatives that do the same thing as 1gal/day?

Lots of food.

One gallon of whole milk = 2400 Calories; 128g Protein. Consume at least that much per day? I guess I’m wondering if there’s more cost-effective means to get the same amount inside me.

Has anyone reading this ever tried this method? I love milk, but a gallon a day sounds kinda gross. I’m wondering if it’s sustainable, too.

1 gallon of milk a day gave me some serious bowel distress.

Ah, the famous “bowel distress” method. One gallon per day! Or, if you wanna really be a man, drink a quart of heavy whipping cream every three hours.

It gets a bit old, but I’ve been doing it for almost 2 months now, just in an attempt to increase kcals in addition to my normal food.

I haven’t felt any adverse effects personally. Only way to find out if it works is to try it. It’s very convenient btw.

[quote]Goggleman wrote:
Ah, the famous “bowel distress” method. One gallon per day! Or, if you wanna really be a man, drink a quart of heavy whipping cream every three hours.[/quote]

Yeah, it was classic. I probably could use it as a cutting technique.

try half a gallon of milk, and enough peanut butter to make up for the rest of the calories?

[quote]Goggleman wrote:
One gallon of whole milk = 2400 Calories; 128g Protein. Consume at least that much per day? I guess I’m wondering if there’s more cost-effective means to get the same amount inside me.

Has anyone reading this ever tried this method? I love milk, but a gallon a day sounds kinda gross. I’m wondering if it’s sustainable, too.[/quote]

Cost effective? Even with rising prices pushing milk to $4 a gallon, you will be hardpressed finding another source of 2800 calories and 128g of high quality protein for cheaper.