T Nation

One Day at a Time

I have been lifting weights for over 5 years following body building splits. I stumbled on Jim’s training methods as I wanted to increase strength ( plus be able to do pull ups ). I purchased 2nd edition and the beyond books this is when my life changed for the better. I sat down and took control ( the fitness industry puts a lot of BS out as well as some good stuff )
Paid for some PT sessions to make sure my DL had good form and my Squats also. Started the 6 week BBB challenge over a 8 day week ( I’m 48 years old needed rest after the 5x 10 squats plus I work 4 on 4 off 12 HR shifts ) By god it worked I felt stronger bigger. Had a few weeks off prior to Xmas ready to start again in january. I haved mapped my year out as Jim states work backwards with your goal lift at the end which will give me my starting weight a little lower than my 90% starting weight but hey at the end of the year I will hit my goal. Crawl before walk walk before run is my motto.

Training starts Monday Press 5 3 1 bench 5 x10 (SS with pull ups in the bench press position)
Lat pull downs upright rows ( this will be trained at home on my new cage and Olympic bar so is limited no dumbbells for kroc rows ) also I aim to hang for as long as possible on the chin up bars varying my grip for 5 sets
Tuesday
531 DL Squats 5x10
Leg curls and extensions walking lunges as extras
Wednesday
Conditioning day
Hill walks runs with my cross chow Huskey dog
Thursday
Bench 5 3 1 press 5x10
Kroc rows face pulls skull crusher’s
Friday
Squats 531 DL 5x10
Good mornings hyper back extensions

The extra work on training days will be of the cuff how I feel after my main lifts but hopefully 2 to3 sets of 10 to 12 reps
Conditioning will be cardio after my lifts 20 to 30 minutes stair climber and treadmill incline jogging walking ( I have a dog that I exercise twice a day morning and evening reviewed my morning walk to very steep hill and steps route approx 1 hour hike )