On to Something, Rest MORE

How many times have you been told to sleep more?
…and how many times did you actually do it? I did and it was worth it.
I have been working out for the past three years. Even though the frequency and intensity varied, I was always doing something (One leg squats and push ups, when I was on vacation).

At this point I would like to add that I am a real bookworm. I read everything from Arthur Jones and Ellington Darden to Arthur Saxon and about half the books, and e-books from the all the coaches on T-Nation, plus my personal favourite, when it comes to getting strong, Pavel Tsatsouline. As a young guy I was running from routine to routine. Starting with Forced Reps, Pre-Fatigue, Negatives and every possible HIT technique, trying Wendler’s 5-3-1, T-Nation’s I,Bodybuilder and even a daily/full body workout I got from men’s health.
Of course nothing worked. Plus, it is pretty difficult to measure your progress, when you bench one week and do max-rep push ups the next one.

I had to change something and this time. I did not look for a new fancy program. I decided to make my own. Of course it is heavily influenced by Tsatsouline’s ideas about tension the beautifully illustrated strength curves in Chad Waterbury’s and Christian Thibeaudau’s (I really hope I spelled that correctly) and Jim Wendler’s system of low reps (even though almost everybody seems to recommend low reps these days) and many more.

Here is what I came up with, that finally works for ME.

1. rest MORE (seriously increasing my sleep to 7 hours a night worked wonders and this late night TV show bores you anyway)
  2. rest between sets
    I know shorter workouts and more workload in less time seem like a winner but I feel like the get in and get out mentality made me lean without making me strong. Think about it. No rest between sets for twenty minutes keeps your heart pumping for twenty minutes. That is cardio, not lifting.
  3. select a few exercises