T Nation

On 'Roids? Comebacks

I've been bodybuilding naturally for a couple of years now and just did a show last April (that wasn't natural). Now that I'm bulking up and am getting a little heavier every week, I'm commonly asked by ignorant people if I'm "On 'Roids". Does anybody have a decent comeback for this idiotic question? It would help to spite these bastards back to the curl machine and ellipticals where they belong.

I've always found that "No" seems to work.

"No, but it looks like you definately do not."

I have found that getting mad or trying to put the other person down is counter-productive and does not accomplish anything. First of all, why is the person asking? Either this person is smaller than you and wants justification for being small or else this person is trying to strike up a conversation. If it is the latter and this person is just trying to find something to say to "break the ice"--so to speak--in order to ask a few weightlifting question, then being rude will not only not help this person learn, but will also kill your chance of dropping some knowledge on this weak, mentally deficient and social inept individual.

That being said, whenever someone asks if I am on 'roids I usually respond, "What are those?" with a quizzical look on my face. That puts the ball back in their court which will either make them shut up (because they don't really know what they are) or they will get to the point of why they are interrupting your workout to accuse you of taking an illegal substance.

No, they are trying to find out if you know where they can buy some.

Usually, "No, thanks for the compliment" works.

Propose a drug test.

When you fail you will pay for it + donate a certain amount of money to a foundation for public utility or something like that.
If you pass the test the one who asked you should pay and donate.

Other possibility: Sell him some Candy and tell him therse are steroids that would make him hyyooge. => easy money :smiley: