Olympic Lifts

I’m considering getting into the Olympic lifts (clean and jerk/snatch). I’ve never done them before, but I’ve been lifting for a while, so in a sense I’m new to this.

My first (of probably many eventually) question is if I can simply try to start with the lifts themselves, or if I should do certain exercises before I try them, to get my body used to the motions?

Most of the exercises basically seem to just be certain parts of the lift isolated and repeated. I would think doing this would help me toss around more weight when I actually got started with the real lifts, but I would think just starting light and staying with it would eventually have the same result.

You guys have any ideas?

my advice would be to try the movements with a broomstick a few times before goin to the empty bar. just 3-5 times and then the empty bar and start light until you get the movements down. the motions require a lot of quick power and if something is off you can tweak something pretty easily. start with a hanging clean/snatch which is where you take out the deadlift part of the lift. instead of starting from the floor, you start with your arms hanging so the bar is a little bit above your knees.
i worked with the olympic weight lifting coach jim schmitz and that is what he had me do, worked great, it really helped my form. just dont get cocky like i did, i did one wrong lift with max weight and gave myself the beginnings of a hernia.

i love that more people are getting into olympic lifting!
happy lifting
Kasomak

[quote]Kasomak wrote: