T Nation

Olympic Lifts in Get Huge in a Hurry?

For phase three workout A, it prescribes power cleans. I am in no way trained or prepared to this this. In phase I it prescribed some high pulls, but I have trouble timing my hip extension and the second pull. Should I just do the powercleans or replace it with some other variation?

Ideas?

I cannot perform the hang clean with any proficiency either. This exercise seems to be a huge flaw in his program design.

The power clean is tough movement to learn because it’s so quick and so complex. I’ve been working on them for a few months and still don’t have it down solid, but I get a little better at it each time. My advice would be to start light and practice practice practice.

[quote]PrISM wrote:
The power clean is tough movement to learn because it’s so quick and so complex. I’ve been working on them for a few months and still don’t have it down solid, but I get a little better at it each time. My advice would be to start light and practice practice practice.[/quote]

Then what should I replace the powerclean exercise for my workout with? any ideas? perhaps jump shrugs?

[quote]Mondy wrote:
PrISM wrote:
The power clean is tough movement to learn because it’s so quick and so complex. I’ve been working on them for a few months and still don’t have it down solid, but I get a little better at it each time. My advice would be to start light and practice practice practice.

Then what should I replace the powerclean exercise for my workout with? any ideas? perhaps jump shrugs?[/quote]

You should just remember that the power clean is in there for a reason and replacing it wouldn’t be wise just because you’re having some difficulty learning it…

Unfortuantley, the power clean is a difficult movement to learn, therefore people don’t want to do it(iI include myself if that generalisation).