Olympic Lifts and Hypertrophy

Hey CT!

I’m a coach for a local weight lifting team. I used to compete myself a few years ago.

Now I’m on a mission to look just as athletic as I feel. Before, I’ve never put the required work into my diet, but now I’m on a solid meal- and supplement plan.

My question for you is: is it possible to effectively incorporate the olympic lifts into a hypertrophy program?

I dedicate four days a week, two snatch days and two clean and jerk days, to keep my technique from deteriorating. On these days I typically do 12 singles using around 80% to 90% of my 1RM.

If possible, what kind of training would complement the primary lifts for added hypertrophy? Big compounds? Isolation with focus on muscle contraction? High or low volume?

Thanks!

[quote]Drenmi wrote:
Hey CT!

I’m a coach for a local weight lifting team. I used to compete myself a few years ago.

Now I’m on a mission to look just as athletic as I feel. Before, I’ve never put the required work into my diet, but now I’m on a solid meal- and supplement plan.

My question for you is: is it possible to effectively incorporate the olympic lifts into a hypertrophy program?

I dedicate four days a week, two snatch days and two clean and jerk days, to keep my technique from deteriorating. On these days I typically do 12 singles using around 80% to 90% of my 1RM.

If possible, what kind of training would complement the primary lifts for added hypertrophy? Big compounds? Isolation with focus on muscle contraction? High or low volume?

Thanks![/quote]

The first Mr. Americas were olympic lifters… John Grimek, Steve Stanko, John Davies, Tommy Kono, etc.

Other high level american olympic lifters from that era also looked great… Bill Starr comes to mind.

So it certainly is possible to combine both. I do not believe that you can reach an optimal level in both objectives, but you can certainly attain a high level.