Olympic Lifting in London

Hi all I’ve been training for a couple of years and want to get into olympic lifting and if successful try out for the GB team for the 2012 olympics.

do any of the UK T-Nation members know of a coach or a good gym that will teach it? any help would be appreciated. Cheers

Where in London are you?

w 11 but I have no problem in travelling, although I don’t have a licence yet, I will by the end of the year. Do you know of anywhere?

I would have thought to be in the 2012 lifting team in 4 years time you would already have to be a world class lifter. Unless you have phenomenal untapped natural potential.

Does anyone have any examples of lifters getting up to speed that quickly?

Are you already insanely strong?

Are you prepared to do nothing but train every day for the next 4 years?

Are you going to win the 2012 olympics or just use them as warmups for your gold in 2016?

I admit it’s kind of a pipe dream, but my logic is always aim high and then you’ll try as hard as possible to get there. success or failure is irrelevant as long as you make vast improvements and make a difference to yourself. And the GB weightlifting team isn’t very good from what I’ve seen so I might as well give it a shot.

Hi,
Find the number for the Crystal Palace National Sports Centre and speak to Keith Morgan; he was (and still might be) national weightlifting coach.

Good luck with your goal.

Cheers
Chris

If you have never competed in Olmympic weightlifting and you’re in your late teen years…it will most likely take you at least 8 years to get up world class levels in order to qualify for international competitions. You may be able to make Team GB well before that, but the international qualifying standards are usually much higher than what it takes to secure a spot on your national team.