T Nation

Olympic Lift Programs?

Ive been looking around for awhile now for a program that focuses on olympic lifts, but have yet to find it. Anyone know of any? thanks.

Do you want to lift to get good at Olympic Lifting, or do you just want a strength program that utilizes Olympic Lifts?

Two very different things.

What do you want?

a strength program

I'm fairly new to olympic lifting and this caught my attention. I would be very interested to know how to divide my time between squats and Oly lifts.

CLEAN, that SNATCH, your JERK.

a site you may find useful

A short description of the programming...

...all olympic lifting.

If you are serious about learning the lifts and getting good at them, I would start looking for a coach in your area as well.

Because Oly lifting is technical, you should be doing it more than once a week to practice the technique.

You dont want your bench to suffer, so impliment it like any other strength program, 2-3 times a week, depending on your training xp, usually less the longer you have been training.

You could pretty much do 2 oly days and 2 bench + assist days, and it would work out like powerlifting, but I think you would get less hypertrophy gains, and eventually end up with much faster rep speeds and power.

As a beginner coming from powerlifting to olympic lifting, on a 3 day a week program, I start with squat variation, then do technical variation or two, and then a pull variation.

For example:
5x5 front squats
3x3 full snatch
4x2 full clean and jerk
3x3 snatch grip pull
pushups, weighted

Day 2:
5x5 back squats
4x3 power clean
3x3 clean pull
3x10 preacher or concentration curls, depending on elbow health (locking or not at the top of a jerk/snatch)

This means you wont be deadlifting, but if you understand the difference between a pull and deadlift, you wont be dissapointed.