Olympic Bar Questions

hey guys,

I am looking to purchase an olympic bar. I have been using a standard bar for cleans and snatches, but I think I need to upgrade to the real thing.

I have found a number of bars locally (in Australia) but would like some opinions on a few things:

The bar I am looking at has a 1500lb rating, and has thrust bearings instead of brass sleeves, so it should spin quite freely. The only concern is that it is 32mm thick, instead of the standard 28mm. I have large hands, so I am pretty sure I will still be able to get a good hook grip on it, but I am in a different state and cannot test it before I buy.

The next option is a 1000lb rated one that is 30mm thick.

I will not be using anywhere near the weight limit of either one of these and am leaning towards the 1000lb’er due to the slightly thinner handle.

I know thick bar work is good for deadlifts etc, but I have no experience with that for olympic lifting. Any comments or experiences are most welcome.

Also, do I really need the thrust bearings, or is a standard sleeved bar adequate?

Scrooge,
Sorry to be the only one to reply to your post & not have an answer but…

I am moving to Australia in Jan & need to get a O-bar & bumpers (or just rubber-coated P.O.S.s if bumpers are too expensive).
Who are you considering buying through?

About your question, why not email Dan John or the Smitty @ dieselcrew.com?
(I don’t have experience with thick bar O-lifts).

good luck with the move, where are you headed?

Here is the link to the bars:

What’s your budget?

If it’s upwards of 700-800 I’d check Eleiko bars, they’re top notch.

If it’s lower I’d check out Glenn Pendlay’s bars (~350, I have one and enjoy it thoroughly). There’s another bar, it’s a bit more and also has received good feedback. I really can’t remember the name, when I do though I’ll PM or post it ASAP.