olympic and powerlifting squats

I think that I have a serious strength imbalance. I have always done squats with a powerlifter’s stance and technique (bar low on back and wide stance.) I tried olympic style squats today and all I can say is wow! I can backsquat (pl style) 385 for a max and today 135 for 10 reps was tough with an olympic style(high bar placement and narrow stance.) I can front squat more than this. Is this indicative of any sort of muscle/strength imbalance? Also, has anyone found olympic squats to be easier on the lower back? thanks

this is a very common mistake for beginers of powerlifting…people think that when they start powerlifting all they do is squat with a wide stance…thats not the case at all…this is one reason i dont like people to learn powerlifting programs like westside online…it is much easier to understand the system and the need for total brute leg strength in the westside squat videos…on max effort day i never squat with a wide stance i squat with a extremely close stance with several diffirent bars to a low box and i wear work boots…you must have whole leg power…people read these articles and hear well at westside they only use wide stance squats and that is far far from true…they use wide stance squats at meets and on dyanmic day…but on max effort day one must train the entire leg for brute leg strength…also when you squat with a close stance with the safety squat bar or the camberd squat bar your lower back will get incredibily strong…if you want a huge squat train the entire leg for brute strength…my close stance low box squats have a direct correlation to my comeptition squat…if my close stance low box squats go up my competion squat goes up…because my low back and brute leg strength imporved…big m

I agree with Big M.
You need to do a variety of diffrent squats so as to not be weak in any one area.These will all add up to a stronger competition squat.

Big Martin,