Oly Lifting with Partial Movements

If you don’t want to read the big ensuing paragraphs, here are the sparknotes: I’m not allowed to Oly. weightlift in my gym, looking for a good training schedule that involves partial movements.

Here’s the deal… we aren’t allowed to do Olympic lifts at my gym. I can’t switch gyms because I’m a college student and it’s the campus gym. I can’t travel to another gym because I don’t have transportation. So I’m stuck at a gym where I can’t Oly. lift. Whatever. My plan is to get as strong as possible in the next four years and then weightlift when I’m out of college.

I want to prepare for weightlifting by practicing variations of the lifts. For example, I get screamed at if I do a hang clean, but I can get away with doing a clean high-pull. Hang snatches will get you thrown out, but I can get away with drop snatches. Get what I’m saying?

I’ve basically invented a routine to prepare me, as well as possible, for weightlifting… without actually doing a full lift. I know I can’t really be good at weightlifting unless I do it, but I have to work with the given circumstances.

Basically, I do Stronglifts 5x5 three days a week. It’s a beginner powerlifting routine and it calls for back squatting 3x a week, but I do high-bar squats instead of low-bar squats. I also do Joe Defranco’s Agile 8 before every workout. Agile 8 is a stretch routine that really opens the hips and loosens you up for squats and stuff like that.

Stronglifts 5x5 (Sunday, Tuesday, Friday):
(5 sets, 5 reps):

1. High-bar squat (+5 lb each workout). The routine says to do low-bar but I do high-bar, for obvious reasons.
  2. Bench press OR ovHd press
  3. Barbell row OR deadlift. Note: we only do 1 set of deadlifts.

On Monday and Thursday, however, I do my own little special program where I try to weightlift without weightlifting. So here’s my full schedule:

Format: (% of max x Reps x Sets)

Sunday –
Warmup:

• Agile 8
    Work:
  • Stronglifts 5x5 (squattin’ heavy)