Oly Lifting, HIIT, Jumping... Dangerous?

Hey, all. As a weightlifting trainee, my main goals are good health and a good-looking body. To this end, I often perform intense activities as I feel these will give me the best results. These include HIIT (including Tabata protocol), olympic lifts, and jumping (this I do mostly because I enjoy it).

However, I’ve been questioning if this kind of intensity is good for me in the long run. Sure, compound and oly lifts and the tabata protocol have given me good results. But is physical activity at such a high level intensity harmful in the long run? Am I wearing out my heart and joints?

To reiterate, my main goals are health and a good body. I don’t want to sacrifice either to reach some kind of peak in strength or anaerobic ability.

Should I continue training as I do, or not? Comments, thoughts and links to evidence for/against the long-term health risks associated with any of the following would be greatly appreciated:
Tabata Protocol
HIIT
Olympic lifts
Jumping

Thanks for tuning in.

No

I got Eric Cressey’s the Art of the Deload today at work. The one thing with jumping and other reactive training methods is the are CNS intensive. He recommends dropping the work every fourth week of a program.

Personally, I think that is a good way to train, more for performance than size though, and I remember a quote from one of the articles I read on here that went something like, if you live life the wrong way, you will end up needing a cardiologist when you get older and if you live life the right way you will probably need a chiropractor.

I would just put as much planning into your recovery strategies and supplemental/prehab program as you do with your strength/conditioning/physique program.

Here is the link to Cressey’s the prehab deload:
http://www.T-Nation.com/readArticle.do?id=1833663

[quote]theuofh wrote: