T Nation

Older trainer: frequency vs. intensity

I am 41 and I notice that my recuperation is not what it used to be. I have a hard time training 2 days in a row nowadays.

I started training in the 70s when everyone was “bombing” and “blitzing” bodyparts LOL. Mike Mentzer was telling everybody to go all out, on just a few sets. My point is that I have always tried to train to failure, and flog myself in the gym. That doesn’t seem to work for me anymore.

A typical training split was previously Pushing/Pulling/Legs, with either a 2 days on, 1 day off schedule, or sometimes 3 days on, 1 or 2 days off. Now I have a hard time training 2 days in a row. I’m wondering if I should moderate my daily volume or cycle my intensity, in order to be able to make it to the gym every day? That is counter-intuitive to everything I grew up on (“train hard on every set”). However, I do realize that I can always learn “new tricks”. (For example I started doing a velocity-oriented “back-off” set for my bench, which seems to work well. Something I would have never considered doing, previously.)

Is it more important to be in the gym often, or work at a high level when you are there?

As far as my training goals, size strength or conditioning, the answer is “yes please” LOL all of the above. With perhaps a slight bias towards size, if I could have my druthers.

I’m not looking for an exact training program, just some philosophies that I can incorporate, and use to write my own program. Any feedback would be great.

1. Quality over quantity, in all things, always. Particularly with your work in the gym.

2. If you haven’t, read everything Ian King has written here. He talks about how older lifters respond better to more ‘neural’ work. That is, decreasing rep ranges.

Hi Lumpy,

Yes, I have more than noticed that it gets harder to maintain high intensity workouts as I have gotten older.