T Nation

Old Guy Frequency

I’m 53, 5’10", 225 lb. Comination meso/endomorph. I’ve been lifting pretty steadily for 2 years after several years of on/off training. Current plan is 3 days/week, 1.5 hours per workout, 4 sets/major body part, 6-10 reps per set. Working in gym with free weights, Nautilus, cables.

Current measurements:

chest 50"
waist 40"
arm - 17"
neck 17.5"
thight - 27"

Current weights:
bench 8x265
db bench 8x100
squat 8x265
incline leg press 8x750
alt db curl 8x45
lying tri extension 8x80
dip - 8xBW+25

I alternate exercies every workout:

chest - flat /incline/decline/db
legs - squat/incline leg press/hack
back - pulldown to front/low row/Hammer row/db row
delt - smith behind neck/lateral/bent lateral
tri - lying ext/pushdown/behind head cable/dip
bi - straight curl/alt db/ex curl/incline db

Supplements - whey protein and ethyl-ester creatine. [AlphaMale seemed not to help much.]

My son (21) has been lifting for several years - placed in top 6 at a fairly large regional bb show. Hardest worker I’ve ever seen in the gym. He says I’m sandbagging - suggests one part/workout - 5 workouts/week. I think that might be overtraining for my age & recovery.

Suggestions/advice? Your help is greatly appreciated. I’d like to break a 300 bench.

First of all congrats on working out. It’s great to see guys 50+ seriously working out.
I’m wondering though why you are concentrating on your bench. From your stats it seems as though your bench is way ahead of your squat numbers.

It’s your diet if you want to look like a bodybuilder.

Smith raises behind the neck are no good, and are you training for any reason other than a 300lb bench?

Didn’t squat until a few months ago. Concentrated on upper body. Big mistake, but squat is coming up. By the way, that’s a whole-body workout I illustrated, three times/week.

Using Smith behind the neck because of a rotator-cuff problem a fe years ago. I go to about upper-ear level, no lower.