Old and Slow

Looking for some ideas from the older guys here on conditioning. Now in my late forties I am faced for the first time by some issues with slowing down during sparring with the twenty somethings. I don’t want to stop sparring with them ( I don’t think I am a effective coach ) if I am not putting in some rounds with them.

Conditioning wise I need some input on what worked for you to retain your speed. This am I did all core based routine including GHR,SU,adb roll outs,back extensions. Then did some mirror work slipping. I feel that I am missing something fundamental, I feel slow for the first time. There has to be something I could add to that core WO that would make it more geared toward retaining speed. Or something that I should be concentrating on.

A little backround to go on. Last spring I cut out all power lifting and have dropped 30 pounds down to 235, currently filling the strength component with crossfit type WO concentrating on OLY lifts and triple extension functional exercises. And am working on getting to 220. Thanks for your input.

First,

Congratulations on keeping at it.

I was always a fan of squat thrusts/burpees as a “conditioning” tool for wind. Because they always suck.

Realistically what are you doing for cardio now?

My bias is to say injury and ortho history need to be accounted for at any age, but for damn sure by 40 there are “factors”.

Examples: Swimming is great, unless you have a history of disc herniation or low back instability. Than it tends to tear folks up. Shoulder issues are a second place and could make it a “maybe”.

Road work is the classic, unless your knees or ankles can’t take it all that well.

Some folks do great with “seated” cardio like bicycles or rowing. Others it wrecks.