OJ & Protein for Pre-Workout Nutrition

I am asking this here instead of in CTs thread on periworkout nutrition because I don’t want to cramp their style…

For the terribly broke who want to improve their work out nutrition, could two cups of orange juice and a scoop of protein compare to Surge Workout Fuel? The two cups of OJ give you ~50 g of fast acting, biologically compatible sugars with tons of vitamins and nutrients. The scoop of protein delivers ~ 25 g of biologically active protein. These are easy on the stomach and provide, at least at face value, similar amounts of macronutrients that Surge Workout Fuel and other similar preworkout fuels. I agree that the formulated recipes probably have better proportions of simple + complex carbs.

Thoughts? I am really a terribly broke college student and I can’t afford to be buying more supplements than Flameout and whey protein (both of which are in the “necessities” section of my budget).

It could potentially replace Surge Recovery, but not Surge Workout Fuel. Surge Workout Fuel isn’t about carbs and protein.

I remember reading on the forums in the past that fruit isn’t a good post-workout carb, due to the fructose needing to be processed by the liver. This is a longer than desired process, and you won’t get the post-workout benefits of the carbs that you would if you consumed something faster-digesting.

CT has said in his forum that table sugar would be an okay poor man’s PWO carb option.

[quote]BSrunner wrote:
I am asking this here instead of in CTs thread on periworkout nutrition because I don’t want to cramp their style…