T Nation

OHP Issue

I don’t want to be one of those guys that posts and asks questions all the time, but this problem I’ve had ever since I started lifting weights with no solution that I can find through just adjusting how I normally do it.

My problem is that whenever I’m doing the Overhead Press I feel all of the weight on my lower back. I fixed several points of bad form (OHP is by far my most poorly performed lift), I had a bad habit of leaning back very far and I resolved that, I always brought the bar to my chest instead of stopping at my ears, and even with these two fixes I always feel all of the weight on the spine of my lower back to the point that it feels uncomfortable.

Now this even occurs when I’m only using about 100lbs for 5-8 reps. Any possible solutions? Should I try and post a video to maybe help show my form?

[quote]Leonard2580 wrote:

Should I try and post a video to maybe help show my form?[/quote]

yes. this is necessary.

drop the weight a little, squeeze your ass as hard as you can and then do the press.

whether it’s OHP, bicep curls, anything standing, my first cue is always “squeeze the glutes(flex the ass)”.

Then there’s this video that changed things for me. Very simple -

And I hate to sound like the “mobility work solves everything” guy… but based on your description (and having dealt with the same thing myself), I’m thinking:

1. bad thoracic mobility
  2. weak glutes
  3. weak quads
  4. weak abs

But mostly #1.

Video will help.

[quote]flipcollar wrote:

yes. this is necessary.[/quote]

you got bigger flip!

[quote]LoRez wrote:
And I hate to sound like the “mobility work solves everything” guy… but based on your description (and having dealt with the same thing myself), I’m thinking:

1. bad thoracic mobility

Video will help.[/quote]