T Nation

Obsession?

Hi, I recently started lifting about 6 months ago when school started, since then I have had massive gains.

But, there is a problem, I think i am becoming Muscle Dysmorphic or Something, Its become and obsession and it all I can think about.

I feel that anything and everyting around me is making my muscle mass decrease. Aything from Ciggarette Smoke to smell of a Magic Marker upsets me.

Can this type of stuff decrease your muscle mass?

[quote]Irish_Iron wrote:
Hi, I recently started lifting about 6 months ago when school started, since then I have had massive gains.

But, there is a problem, I think i am becoming Muscle Dysmorphic or Something, Its become and obsession and it all I can think about.

I feel that anything and everyting around me is making my muscle mass decrease. Aything from Ciggarette Smoke to smell of a Magic Marker upsets me.

Can this type of stuff decrease your muscle mass?[/quote]

Well, it kinda can. If you are stressing out to the point of insomnia and loss of appetite you will not make the gains you want.

relax dude magic marker smell isnt gonna fuck you up.

That is ridiculous. Where did you hear this stuff? Eat enough, lift enough, sleep enough. All other details are subordinate to these. If you have been making massive gains, you are on the right track.

Cigarette smoke is going to catabolize muscle how? Try and rationalize it for yourself and see if the mere process does not turn you off worrying about it. Magic marker? Again, I have to ask, what kind of literature are you reading? They must really be magic.

I think the only thing you should be worrying about is that all of your worrying is going to start catabolizing muscle.

[quote]Irish_Iron wrote:

is this something that is a reaction to something you are eating or taking in your body to get so irritable or nervous??

[quote]Irish_Iron wrote:

keep some kind of perspective on your life and fit bodybuilding into it, instead of bodybuilding being your life!