T Nation

Obese and Back Hurts when Squatting

I'm not a beginner in terms of experience, but I got married, stopped lifting, and over the course of 7 years got obese, so I am a beginner in terms of that and I really don't know where else to put this.

With that out of the way, I just started going back to the gym, eating better, walking more, etc. Other than the personal shame of getting a hands on experience of how much I have really let myself go, the biggest thing I am struggling with is squats. Even with low weight and even trying a box, I found I was leaning forward too much (weak back/core, big gut) and my lower back hurt. My lower back and core are far too weak to work my legs with the weights they need, so I am coming here for advice.

I know losing weight, getting re-acclimated to the gym, and strengthening my back and core will help my form and thus help my lower back, but is it just that simple and I have to wait it out (and replace squats with leg press?) or does anyone see something I might be missing? I know wearing a belt would help some, but I don't want to start relying on one as crutch even for light weight.

after long layoff i had pain in lower back muscles not spine
i stoped doing sqauts for about six weeks and focused on lower back instead
after six weeks started sqauting with light weight and moving back up
before squats i would do light rdl ,good mornings as part of warmup

if you are obese, then diet is the main thing. When you’re in the gym do whatever your current level of fitness and mobility allows. If you’re not up to doing squats yet, don’t worry about it. You’ll get there. In the meantime just do what you can. One day you’ll be able to do goblet squats to a high box, then you’ll lower the box, then you’ll be able to use a bar for front squats, then one day you’ll hit the almighty back squat.