T Nation

O-lineman Looking For Tips

Yo, Im pretty new to these message board things…but I’m 6’1" 260 lbs. and i play college football, I used to play noseguard when i was 290, but i was moved to OG due to lack of experience at the position…ive lost a lot of fat because i started training better and quit eating junk food…

I need to pack on some muscle mass to play o line tho, there’s a pic…what do you all suggest

I know you mean well, but prepared to be burned.

Anyways, eat. Train hard and eat. Eat clean. Someone else will show up with better advice though.

Hey man,
You obviously are pretty solid at 260 and fairly lean in your current condition. I would check out Joe DeFranco’s stuff, and check out Eric Cressey’s new book on off season training.

In terms of nutrition, I think even if you just followed Berardi’s 10 Habits and didn’t get into counting calories, especially since you’re a lineman and you have a high activity level due to practice, you’ll do great. Good luck bro.
-Greg

[quote]WolBarret wrote:

Anyways, eat. Train hard and eat. Eat clean. Someone else will show up with better advice though.[/quote]

Why would he be burned? He’s bigger than most of the people on this board.

As far as advice, come up with the average amount of calories you eat per week that allow you stay at 260lbs. Slowly increase that amount up to as much as 500cals until you are gaining weight. I would attempt to gain too quickly because you could end up just putting that weight you lose back on. What is your protein intake like now? What is your goal weight?

[quote]Professor X wrote:
WolBarret wrote:

Anyways, eat. Train hard and eat. Eat clean. Someone else will show up with better advice though.

Why would he be burned? He’s bigger than most of the people on this board.