nutrition

i’ve been a personal trainer for 3 years and im about to receive my performance nutrition certification from the i.s.s.a. im looking for ideas on how to go about introducing nutrition to the gym members. i know just about everyone, and getting people to sign up for nutritional councelling isn’t a problem, but how much do i charge?? do i give package deals?? does anyone have any experience or ideas on how to go about doing this the right way?? any imput would be greatly appreciated! thanks.

Congrats, the SPN is a very informative cert to have and depending on your location can add to your training business. I’m assuming youve checked your states statuatory regulations regarding the practice and marketing of nutritional services. The price you charge depends on where you are located and the competition and demand for such services. I like to do mine in packages with nutrition and training programs, although because of my current situation I don’t advertise or market my services. I found it best to charge a flat rate for x-length of nutritional counseling. So after I do a nutritional evaluation, I charge them (x)dollars for a detailed 1 week nutrition program. Then I would do the 2nd week and so on. It enables you to better track their results and see if they are sticking to it, so you can make the necessary adjustments to kcal intake and macronutrient ratio as well as their supplement program. As far as marketing goes, email Patrick or visit the ISSA q-board and he will give you very useful information.

I’m glad someone brought up the performance nutrition cert…I’ve been pondering this and was wondering what type of job opportunities this would provide. I’m about finished with the CPT certification from ISSA.